Happy New Year!/あけましておめでとうございます

Standard

Happy New Year! あけましておめでとうございます!

toshikoshisoba

Today I ate toshi-koshi soba (年越しそば) which is eaten at the year-end (31 Dec) and is said to help to provide a clean start to the new year. The noodles are long but are easily cut by chewing. Tomorrow we will visit my fiance’s grandparents’ graves, but tonight we drink chuhai (wine coolers?) and enjoy the various end of year TV shows.

今日は年越しそばを食べましたよ。アメリカでこういうおみそかで食べるものはありませんね。大体シャンペンを飲むけど、特別な食べ物はありませんよ。明日はお墓参りだけど、今夜はチュハイを飲んだり、テレビを見たり、のんびりしてますね。

I wish everyone a Happy New Year! 皆さん、あけましておめでとうございます!

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!/あけましておめでとうございます

    • Thank you and Happy New Year!

      Noodles have so many meanings! The cutting of soba noodles to mean a clean end to the old year and transition to the new, and then not chewing noodles to represent longevity. I’d try that on my next birthday, but I’m not very good at slurping noodles ^^

      Like

    • Thank you, Happy New Year Diana-san! I wanted to go to Tokyo too, but it was family time and that’s ok. Did you see Tokyo Tower? I heard that they display the new year (2015) when it changes. I finally got a fukubukuro (happy/lucky bag) today! I wish you a great new year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

