Japan Diaries Day 3 – Kotatsu, Game Centers, & Mos Burger

Standard

I’ve been back for 3 weeks, but I’m still super happy from my one-month trip to Japan! After a day in Ikebukuro, I spent the next day closer to home…

☆*✲゚*。☆*✲゚*。☆*✲゚*。☆*✲゚*。☆*✲゚*。☆。*゚✲*☆。*゚✲*☆。*゚✲*☆。*゚✲*☆。*゚✲*☆

2014年12月7日

Sunday was the day that my fiancé’s parents were leaving for Hawai’i! That meant dropping them off at the nearby train station so that they could catch their limousine bus to Haneda Airport. Haneda is much closer than Narita (which is in Chiba), and is only about an hour away from Tokyo. It’s also more expensive to fly in and out of, but it’s a good airport to travel to Hawai’i from.

Enjoying Coca-Cola Orange on the kotatsu while I work - photo by kei

Enjoying Coca-Cola Orange on the kotatsu while I work – photo by kei

I also had to finish up some work related to grad school, which I had hoped to avoid, but since I left a week before the semester let out I couldn’t avoid it. My fiancé ran to the gym while I worked in peace. The good news is, I got to use the kotatsu while I worked! A kotatsu is a low table at which you sit on the floor, with blankets underneath the table and a heater. Since heating in Japanese apartments and even some homes is not central and insulation can be poor, a kotatsu is a common place for families to gather in the winter. The other option? Huddling around the small kerosene heater that heats one room at a time.

Taito Station - photo by kei

Taito Station – photo by kei

We had some fun in town in the afternoon, including a stop at the local Taito Station for some Gundam build fighter action and Taiko drums – the game where you have to hit the drums on the correct beat with drumsticks. We also looked at the UFO catchers in Adores, another game center, before it was time for Mos Burger!

Youkai Watch UFO catcher - photo by kei

Youkai Watch UFO catcher – photo by kei

Mos Burger is short for “Most Delicious Burger” and it is really amazing. My favourite and their most famous burger is the yasai burger (vegetable burger). This is not a veggie burger, but a hamburger with vegetables on it. Mos Burger always makes everything fresh and the ingredients are high-quality. In Japan it’s not very expensive, but I feel like it would be expensive to make such high-quality burgers in the US. The closest I’ve ever had to Mos Burger quality is In-N-Out.

Mos Burger yasai burger & melon soda - photo by kei

Mos Burger yasai burger & melon soda – photo by kei

Thanks for reading again this week! If you missed Day 1 and Day 2 you can catch up!

I wish I could write more often but grad school is intense this semester and I have very little free time!

Next Up: Japan Diaries Day 4 Part 1 – Asakusa

Japan Diaries 2014

2 thoughts on “Japan Diaries Day 3 – Kotatsu, Game Centers, & Mos Burger

  1. Nice post, I haven’t tried MOS Burger yet, I have heard both good and bad about it so I admit to hesitating to try it. It is on my list of things to do before we have to leave next year.

    Like

    • I’ve never been disappointed with Mos Burger quality! I’ve also never heard anything bad about it. If you are not very adventurous, you might want to avoid the seafood burger, but the yasai burger is a good old favourite. I highly recommend it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

