A is for Ali’i Kula Lavender Gardens

Gallery

Today marks the start of the A to Z Challenge! As I announced before, my theme is travel, and so I will start it off with A for Ali’i Kula Lavender Gardens on the island of Maui (that’s in Hawai’i).

I spent 2 weeks in Maui one year while I was in grad school, and after getting super sunburned in the first couple of days, I decided to travel up the hill (or volcano) to a cooler part of the island and visit the lavender gardens. This place stands out in my memory as an escape from the tropical sun where I wandered the garden paths, and watched as the sun chased the mists up towards the top of the volcano Haleakala. It was a completely different atmosphere than the beaches of Kihei, but it took less than an hour to reach the farm.

Ali’i Kula Lavender is a commercial garden in the upcountry of Maui which practices environmental stewardship, and for only $3 you can gain admission to the farm. Tours cost $12 but you can wander the gardens on your own for just the admission cost. There are a variety of lavender goods to choose from at the gift shop, and you can order them online even if you can’t make it to the gardens. I think the best way to explain why I love these gardens is to show you!

Ali'i Kula Lavender Gardens

Watching the mist move up the volcano at Ali’i Kula Lavender Gardens – photo by kei

Aside from just lavender, many other flowers are grown in the extensive gardens.

Ali'i Kula Lavender Gardens

Ali'i Kula Lavender GardensAli'i Kula Lavender GardensAli'i Kula Lavender GardensAli'i Kula Lavender Gardens

BONUS: Since today is also Photo Friday, I have selected a photo from the Ali’i Kula Lavender Farms that goes with the theme Half-Light:

Ali'i Kula Lavender Gardens

From the gardens in the partly cloudy upcountry, you can see down to the shores of West Maui. The cool ocean breeze and the higher altitudes offer a refreshing break from the sunny beach. The volcano Haleakala keeps the clouds around a little longer and gives an ethereal feel to the gardens in this island paradise.

What is your most peaceful, refreshing, or relaxing travel memory? Let me know in the comments!

18 thoughts on “A is for Ali’i Kula Lavender Gardens

  1. This garden in Maui looks wonderful. Maui’s on my must-travel list so I’m sure the entire island is a feast for the eyes. The vacations I’ve taken which are relaxing are the ones where I’m on an island or at the beach 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maui’s natural beauty is amazing. And since it’s an island, everything is surprisingly close. There are quite a few places you can go to find solitude too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

