Photo Friday: Morning / Lake Kawaguchiko

Standard

Mt Fuji Sunrise over Lake Kawaguchiko

Photo Friday Challenge: Morning

On a cold December morning in 2014, my then-fiance and I crawled out of a cozy ryokan 旅館 bed and drove a block down to the shores of Lake Kawaguchiko 河口湖 to watch the sunrise. We were visiting Yamanashi Prefecture 山梨県, my Japanese hometown, and in the quiet hours of the morning we were the only ones stirring out of doors.

I took this panorama shot with my iPhone, and whenever I look at this (and the other hundred-odd photos I took that morning), the memories of the beauty of the sun rising over Mt. Fuji, the quiet of the morning giving way to the new day, and the return to a delicious Japanese-style breakfast waiting at the traditional Japanese inn or ryokan, come flooding back to me. This might well be my favorite Morning ever…

What is your favorite morning? Share your favorite morning in the comments!

Leave a Reply

