Photo Friday: Mirror / Tokyo Skytree

Standard

 

Tokyo Skytree Mirror View

Photo Friday: Mirror

For the “Mirror” Photo Friday Challenge, I picked this photo of the Tokyo Skytree. I took this photo when I was in Tokyo this June, because I am always amazed at the size of the tower as it looms over the Tokyo skyline. The Tokyo Skytree is relatively new, and I think that most people still associate Tokyo with the more famous, although slightly shorter, Tokyo Tower. However, in June I finally got the chance to go to the top of the Skytree and to see out of it. The previous times I’ve gone, it’s always been cloudy and so I didn’t want to pay to go to the top just to see clouds and maybe nearby Asakusa.

What I didn’t realize when I took this shot from the ground is that the Skytree is reflected in the building to the left, like a mirror. This gives the Skytree an asymmetrical look at the bottom. I love to photograph architecture in a unique way, and although this asymmetrical effect was unintentional, I am quite happy with the result!

What kind of mirrors do you see around you? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

