New Year, New Japanese Goals

Standard

I’ve always wanted to take the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT), although it does nothing for me professionally, just to prove that I can. At the beginning of 2016, I thought I would take it by the end of the year, but I didn’t stick to any kind of schedule and in the end I never took it.

This year? I’m not confident that I will be able to take it this year either. But I would like to study as though I were planning to take it at the end of 2017. If for nothing else other than as personal growth in my Japanese ability. So, I have made Japanese study one of my New Year’s resolutions!

What went wrong last year? Last year I did not set any kind of schedule or routine for study, and therefore there was no motivation for me to study. I am good at setting long-term goals, but if there’s no plan it’s hard for me to keep on track. So this year I am going to make a plan from the beginning!

Japanese Study Texts

I am starting off with the Matome まとめ series for JLPT N3 (the middle level), and Kanji Step 6 to strengthen my basic ability. Then I plan to continue to N2 and N1, and to continue with the kanji series. I prefer a structured lesson set so I like the day-by-day worksheets in the まとめ series, but that’s a personal preference.

I’ve also started using an app called HelloTalk. This is a social language learning app, where you can find people who speak the language you want to learn, and who want to learn the language you speak. Then you can exchange messages in either language, and correct each other’s messages. I won’t be able to do all the worksheets every day, and so if I’m busy I can still practice reading and writing in Japanese with this app.

I also practice speaking daily with my husband (although usually only slang ^^), and listening daily with the Japanese news on the NHK cable TV channel that is offered through my cable provider.

So, will I end up taking the JLPT this year? I think I need to consider it a bit more carefully before I decide, but at least I hope to improve my Japanese ability!

Are you going to start learning Japanese this year? Or improve your Japanese ability? How do you plan to study? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Japanese Goals

  1. Hello! It sounds like I have the same reasons as you for wanting to take the JLPT! I wish you luck! I’ve also been using Hello Talk for a while. Once they introduced the “moments” feature I started to write a short post in Japanese almost every day. At first I didn’t think it was helping but now I realized that it is actually helping me to think in Japanese more smoothly and also explain my thoughts. I hope that it works out for you!!! 😀 Cheering you on for your JLPT goals

    Like

    • Thank you for cheering me on! I’m glad to hear that HelloTalk has been helping you improve your Japanese. I should try writing a moment everyday too! Practice, practice practice, right? I wish you good luck on your JLPT goals as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

